Grander adventures

We’re down to the last two weeks. From work, to our adventures, everything has been getting crazier. As the time crunch is on, we realize that the vacation semester will soon end. The problems at work have more pressure, but the solutions have become more rewarding. Key parts had been lost due to extenuating circumstances, but we recovered. Now the projects are close to completion, and we are feeling positive. I’m going to be sad when the projects are over though; I have had such a great time with the people at Entrepix, and I do not want to go.

As for adventures, we have not been downsizing. Recently, I rented a car for 24 hours, but did not plan our day trip until I had the keys. Over breakfast, Ryan mentioned Las Vegas was a short 5½ hours away. After rallying the troops, Doug and Polzella were on board with Ryan and me. We fit a more proper definition “day trip”, as the trip took a quite literal 24 hours. I’d love to write more, but that would break the golden rule of sin city; what happens in Vegas, stays in Vegas.

My favorite part of the craziest day trip ever? Illogically, the drive. Getting to know people is easer in a coffee fueled conversation at 3AM trapped in a car. Ryan asked the question, “What happens when we leave? Do we go back to not knowing each other?” It sounded like a quote directly out of The Breakfast Club. I simply responded, “I hope not.” Vegas was a shallow, glimmering city of image and lust; except for us, we had real good times.

The ridiculousness continuous, as we got to experience the realest beauty I’ve ever seen; the Grand Canyon. I wonder how long it took the Mayans to dig it. Everyone in the program piled into a 15-passenger van, and off we went. We got to the canyon in time to see the sunset. Now I’ve said before that pictures don’t do true beauty justice, but this is the first time my own eyes clearly could not portray an accurate image to by brain. My own eyes made it look fake; like it was a painting draped across the horizon. Nothing compared, nothing. We walked down into it a negligible amount, enough to escape the crowds. There we watched the sun set.

The next day we hiked along the rim. The Colorado River looked like a stream from the top, an impossibly far way down. I could have spent weeks there, hiking down and exploring. I’ll be back, that is certain.

ImageImageImage

Leave a comment